Jazz Fusion Progressive world music
Find unique CDs at Abstractlogix.com for bargain price!


Artist: Ayreon
Title: The Human Equation
Genre: Progressive Rock
Label: Inside Out Music-http://www.insideoutmusic.com
Website: http://www.ayreon.com/thehumanequation

Ayreon, otherwise known as Arjen Lucassen, guitar player extraordinaire, has once again come 
up with a masterpiece of progressive rock sonic pleasures. It is a feast for your ears, mind, and 
senses. The Human Equation is a two CD set that tells a story that will capture your 
imagination. This spectacular production is all about the human condition, well, various levels of 
it. It is a story within a story if you will.
One look at the lineup on this set and you will see that Lucassen’s peers respect him by 
contributing and turning in such incredible performances. Many well-known names in the world of 
progressive-rock take their part in this, to put it mildly, ambitious affair. 
I totally loved this album, period.  I really got off on all the excellent instrumentation and the 
varying degrees of vocalists that Lucassen used to present each segment of the story (numbered 
1-20 days). I have to admit, I will never feel my words will do this work the justice it deserves, you 
absolutely must hear this album for yourself to absorb it all and feel the impact of the words and 
music. This collection of recorded works stands strong and tall amongst all the rest, and I mean 
anything that is coming out now. It is without a doubt the best prog-rock album I have heard this 
year, it will be terribly difficult to top this one, as they do not get much better. 
The mix down of this recording is phenomenal. Each vocalist comes in for his or her part with 
such force and beauty to shape each of the 20 days with singularity and purpose. I found Eric 
Clayton’s voice the most intriguing, he reminded me of Bowie, but a few notches on the lower end 
of the scale, very powerful and magnetic. The incomparable James LaBrie seems to showing up 
everywhere lately; he is quickly becoming one of the most sought after vocalist on the planet, and 
with good reason, he is incredibly versatile and talented. Last but not least, the powerful and 
moving guitar playing of Arjen Lucassen. After the Star One project, I never thought I would be 
saying, at least so soon, that there was a better album from this man. Well the time has arrived, 
he has reached the top of the mountain, but of course, he will surely find another to climb next 
time he gets in the studio. Now the challenge is taking this on the road, is it even possible? If 
anyone can pull it off it would be him, I have no doubt.
There was not a big named prog-rock band that did not cross my mind at one time or another 
while listening to this album; I am gushing with exuberance and energy after hearing this 
incredible display of musical virtuosity. This is the ultimate convergence of progressive rock 
royalty. As soon as I got the press release for this, I said send it! I knew straight away that I was 
in for a sonic treat when I saw the name that you equate with musical excellence, Arjen “Ayreon” 
Lucassen…I rest my case.
© Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck-http://www.muzikreviews.com


May 5, 2004

Release Date May 24, 2004
CD 1

Day One: Vigil (1:33)
Day Two: Isolation (8:42)
Day Three: Pain (4:58)
Day Four: Mystery (5:37)
Day Five: Voices (7:09)
Day Six: Childhood (5:05)
Day Seven: Hope (2:47)
Day Eight: School (4:22)
Day Nine: Playground (2:15)
Day Ten: Memories (3:57)
Day Eleven: Love (4:18)
CD 2

Day Twelve: Trauma (8:59)
Day Thirteen: Sign (4:47)
Day Fourteen: Pride (4:42)
Day Fifteen: Betrayal (5:24)
Day Sixteen: Loser (4:46)
Day Seventeen: Accident? (5:42)
Day Eighteen: Realization (4:31)
Day Nineteen: Disclosure (4:42)
Day Twenty: Confrontation (7:03)

Total Time: 102:14

Arjen “Ayreon” Lucassen - Electric and acoustic guitars, bass guitar, analogue synthesizers, 
Hammond, Mellotron, additional keyboards


Devon Graves (Dead Soul Tribe) as 'Agony'
Devin Townsend (SYL) as 'Rage'
Eric Clayton (Saviour Machine) as 'Reason'
Mikael Åkerfeldt (Opeth) as 'Fear'
Magnus Ekwall (The Quill) as 'Pride'
Heather Findlay (Mostly Autumn) as 'Love'
Irene Jansen (Karma) as 'Passion'
James LaBrie (Dream Theater) as 'Me'
Marcela Bovio (Elfonia) as 'Wife'
Mike Baker (Shadow Gallery) as 'Father'
Arjen Lucassen (Ayreon) as 'Best Friend' 


Ken Hensley (Uriah Heep, Various) -Hammond 
Oliver Wakeman (Nolan & Wakeman) - Keyboards 
Martin Orford (IQ, Jadis) - Keyboards
Ed Warby (Gorefest, Various) – Drums
Joost van den Broek (Ayreon) – keyboards
John McManus - Low-flute, tin-whistle
Jeroen Goossens – Flute
Robert Baba – Violins
Marieke van der Heyden - Cello





EER-MUSIC.com does NOT recommend:
GuitarTrader . . .


To purchase this recording and get more info, soundclips, etc.


OR . . .Please try my

buyer's guide to recommended music.

OR . . .

go to my LINKS page and find the vendors' section.
Happy hunting!


Observe how the word
wheel reverses direction
if you try and read words.